American Express Gold Card
Updated on September 10, 2026

🎖️Reward Rate
Base Reward Rate: 1 MR Point per ₹50 spent, INCLUDING utility spend
Overview
The American Express Gold Card is a charge card (not a revolving credit card) offering no pre-set spending limit, accelerated Membership Rewards points via the Reward Multiplier programme, and access to the Gold Collection redemption catalogue.
Rewards
Reward Type
Reward Points
Reward Rate
- • Base Reward Rate: 1 MR Point per ₹50 spent, INCLUDING utility spend
- • Insurance and Cash Transactions excluded
- • Fuel excluded only effective 12 June 2025
- • Reward Multiplier Rate: 'Earn 5X Membership Reward points on every purchase through Reward Multiplier' — no specific partner brands named on pages captured
Welcome Benefit
Welcome Gift of 4,000 Bonus Membership Rewards Points, available only in the 1st year on payment of annual fee and spending ₹10,000 within 90 days of Cardmembership
Milestone Benefit
1,000 bonus Membership Rewards points on completing 6 transactions of ₹1,000 or more each, every calendar month
Redemption
- • Choice of: Taj ₹14,000 / Shoppers Stop ₹10,000 / Tata Cliq ₹9,000 / Tanishq ₹9,000 / Amazon ₹8,000 / Flipkart ₹8,000 / Reliance Digital ₹8,000
- • Choice of: Taj ₹9,000 / Shoppers Stop ₹7,000 / Tata Cliq ₹7,000 / Myntra ₹7,000 / Amazon ₹6,000 / Flipkart ₹6,000 / Reliance Digital ₹6,000
Benefits
- No Pre-Set Spending Limit: Listed as a Key Benefit: 'Enjoy greater flexibility with no pre-set spending limit' (charges approved based on spending pattern, financials, credit record, and account history)
- Fuel Surcharge Waiver: 0% for HPCL transactions <₹5,000
- 1% (min ₹10 + tax) for HPCL transactions ≥₹5,000 and at BPCL/IOCL
- 2.5% (min ₹10 + tax) at all other Oil Marketing Companies
Things to Know Before you apply
American Express Gold Card Eligibility Criteria
- Age: 18+ years
- Personal Annual Income of ₹6 Lakhs and above (flat threshold, same for salaried and self-employed)
- If self-employed, company must have been trading for more than 12 months
- Resident Indian; card issued only to residents of listed cities (Delhi/NCR, Mumbai, Bangalore, Chennai, Pune, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Kolkata, Indore, Coimbatore, Chandigarh/Tricity, Ahmedabad, Surat, Vadodra, Bhopal, Bhubaneshwar, Ernakulam, Vijaywada, Lucknow, Ludhiana, Nagpur, Nasik, Trivandrum, Mysuru, Cuttack & Vizag) subject to conditions
Fees & Charges
| Particulars | Amount |
|---|---|
| Joining Fee | ₹1,000 |
| Annual Fee | ₹4,500 |
| Cash Advance Fee | Not disclosed by issuer on pages captured |
Fee waiver: Not disclosed with a specific spend threshold on the official pages captured for this card
PaisaSimple Review
Overall Rating
4.9/5What do we like about this card?
A charge card (not a revolving credit card) with no pre-set spending limit and strong Reward Multiplier-driven earning, though American Express is currently pausing new applications in India while updating its issuing platform.
Pros
- • No pre-set spending limit
- • 5X rewards via Reward Multiplier
- • Monthly transaction bonus of 1,000 points
- • Utility spend earns Membership Rewards points (unlike most other Amex India cards)
Cons
- • It's a charge card, typically requiring full monthly repayment
- • New applications currently paused by Amex in India
- • Card issuance restricted to specific cities
- • Fuel transactions excluded from rewards
Compare with Similar Cards
Joining Fee
₹1,000
Annual/Renewal Fee
₹4,500
Joining Fee
₹1,000
Annual/Renewal Fee
₹4,500
Joining Fee
₹2,500
Annual/Renewal Fee
₹2,500
- • Welcome Gift of 4,000 Bonus Membership Rewards Points, available only in the 1st year on payment of annual fee and spending ₹10,000 within 90 days of Cardmembership
- • Welcome Gift of 4,000 Bonus Membership Rewards Points, applicable on payment of joining fee and spending ₹15,000 within first 90 days of Cardmembership
- • Complimentary Swiggy One and MMT Black Gold membership on spends of ₹1 lakh in the first 90 days
- • Base Reward Rate: 1 MR Point per ₹50 spent, INCLUDING utility spend
- • Insurance and Cash Transactions excluded
- • Fuel excluded only effective 12 June 2025
- • Reward Multiplier Rate: 'Earn 5X Membership Reward points on every purchase through Reward Multiplier' — no specific partner brands named on pages captured
- • Base Reward Rate: 1 MR point per ₹50 spent, except Fuel, Insurance, Utilities, Cash Transactions and EMI conversion at POS
- • 5 Reward Points on every ₹200 spent (base)
- • 5X Reward Points on spends at Myntra, Nykaa, Reliance Digital, Pharmeasy, Apple Imagine Tresor and Jockey
- • Maximum 50,000 Reward Points per statement cycle
- • No pre-set spending limit
- • 5X rewards via Reward Multiplier
- • Monthly transaction bonus of 1,000 points
- • Utility spend earns Membership Rewards points (unlike most other Amex India cards)
- • Achievable 100% fee waiver at ₹1.5L annual spend
- • 5,000 point renewal bonus
- • Monthly transaction-frequency bonus
- • Access to Gold Collection redemption catalogue
- • Base Rewards: 4 Reward Points per ₹150 (Base reward accrual across retail spends)
- • Forex markup rate of 2%
- • Airport lounge and lifestyle dining privileges
- • Value-packed milestone rewards on annual spend
- • It's a charge card, typically requiring full monthly repayment
- • New applications currently paused by Amex in India
- • Card issuance restricted to specific cities
- • Fuel transactions excluded from rewards
- • ₹20,000 monthly bonus requires separate enrollment, not automatic
- • New applications currently paused by Amex in India
- • Card issuance restricted to specific cities
- • Salaried income threshold (₹4.5L) lower than self-employed (₹6L)
- • Annual renewal fee of ₹2500
- • Reward exclusion on fuel purchases and wallet load transactions

